ABP Apprentice Awards recognise South Wales achievements

May 13, 2016

Left: ABP CEO, James Cooper and Group Apprentice of the Year, Ross Truszkowski 

ABP South Wales commitment to training the next generation has been recognised at ABP’s first ever group Apprentice Awards in Leeds.

The awards consisted of nominees from ABP’s network of 21 ports. Ross Truszkowski, an Electrical Engineering Apprentice at the Port of Newport won the prestigious ABP Group Apprentice Award for his achievements. Ross has been with ABP since 2014 and is currently almost halfway through his apprentice training scheme.

Callum Couper, Port Manager for Swansea, Port Talbot & Barry, won an award for being the longest serving Ex-ABP graduate. Callum has worked for ABP for 30 years since joining via the graduate trainee scheme and his contribution to the company was commended.

ABP South Wales currently has 11 apprentices enrolled on either electrical or mechanical engineering schemes across its five ports. The ports are also the base for ABP’s first ever Marine Pilotage Apprentice scheme. The three pilotage apprentices are being trained over a 16 month period and the scheme offers an alternative entry route into pilotage to mariners who have gained their first level marine qualification.

Matthew Kennerley, Director, ABP South Wales said: “Our apprentices are developing skills in trades that are vital in ensuring day-to-day port operations run smoothly.”

“A massive congratulations goes out to all of our nominated apprentices and to Ross Truszkowski whose hard work has resulted in a well-deserved award. I’d also like to express thanks to Callum Couper for his valuable contribution during his 30 years of service to the company.”

ABP has over 60 apprentices working across the UK and at this year’s awards 32 apprentices were nominated across ten categories.

Apprentices who took home awards on the night were:

• ABP Group Apprentice - Ross Truszkowski (Port of Newport)
• Best College Achievement – Sean McCulloch (Port of Ayr)
• The Apprentice’s Apprentice – Niall Robson (Port of Immingham)
• Apprentice of the Year (2012) – Keeta Rowlands (Port of Immingham)
• Apprentice of the Year (2014) – Kurt Jensen (Port of Immingham)
• Apprentice of the Year (2015) – Jenny Allen (Port of Immingham)

The ceremony also honoured long serving apprentices and those who have completed ABP’s graduate scheme:

• Longest Serving Ex-ABP Graduate – Callum Couper (Port Manager for Swansea, Port Talbot & Barry)
• Best Business Contribution by an Ex-ABP Apprentice – Guy Sleeman (Port of Immingham)
• Longest Serving Ex-British Transport Docks Board (BTDB) / ABP Apprentice – Steve Archer (Port of Hull)
• Best Contribution by an Ex-ABP Graduate – Beth Evans (Port of Southampton)

A video of the awards ceremony can be viewed here. If you wish to receive a copy, please email the Corporate Communications team.